Disaccumulation Briefing No.4

Today, I disaccumulated The Restraint of Beasts by Magnus Mills. I also got shot of a load of David Lodge novels, Thinks, Therapy, Nice Work, and Scenes From Academic Life (an anthology). I may be keeping Changing Places.

I have a load of ‘Britpulp’, including an anthology called Britpulp! Among these are Tribes by Alexander Stuart, Yardie by Victor Headley, Acid Casuals by Nicholas Blincoe, Rilke on Black by Ken Bruen, Awaydays by Kevin Sampson and Sheepshagger by Niall Griffiths, which was marketed in a Britpulp way but was more literary. Irvine Welsh has to go too, the anthology of Trainspotting, Acid House and Marabou Stork… I find his work disgusting and amoral. You’ll Have Had Your Hole I went to see at Leeds Playhouse and hated it – if he had swapped the male character for a woman it would have been much more active – Welsh assumed his horror of male rape was everyone else’s, not true.

Related – sort of – are a load of Will Self books, Sweet Smell of Psychosis, Junk Mail (journalism) and Scale (an excerpt for the Penguin 60s series). Wasp Factory by Iain Banks must go. Also leaving the shelves is an anthology of the New Gothic with Angela Carter, and Nick Cave’s novel And The Ass Saw The Angel. I’m also shedding and a bunch of Granta anthologies, those charity shop staples…

Leave a comment